Endorse Me


en·dorse

/enˈdôrs/
Verb
  1. Declare one’s public approval or support of.
  2. Recommend (a product) in an advertisement.
Synonyms
indorse – approve – sanction – confirm – back

by Jacques Gordon

Last month I found an old Rolodex hiding at the back of a desk drawer. Even though they’re still available and used by more than a few businesses, younger people may have never seen a Rolodex. When e-mail became common, people began ignoring their vast collection of business cards in favor of an electronic address book. Business cards are still as common as ever, but it’s been years since I flipped through them looking for contact information.

Mark Zuckerburg wasn’t the first to create a user-generated, web-based contacts database and communication tool, but he showed the world how to make it work. His idea was emulated by LinkedIn, often described as ‘Facebook for professionals.’ LinkedIn has positioned itself as a social networking tool for business, used by individuals and by businesses themselves. It’s designed as a place to post a comprehensive resume (profile) that can be updated any time, and to research other peoples’ resumes. It also lets people contact and communicate with others in the same field or profession. Barely ten years old now, LinkedIn claims over 200 million subscribers in more than 200 countries. As a business tool, there’s no denying its potential.

I’ve been a subscriber for more than half of its existence, but since I’m not looking for a job I tend to ignore LinkedIn. They must have noticed, because in recent months LinkedIn has begun sending daily e-mail invitations to visit the Website. Even though third party introductions have always been possible, suddenly I’m getting daily connection requests from people I don’t know and have never met or done business with. Well that’s part of why it exists, but in addition, an increasing number of people are “endorsing” me without knowing anything about my skills. For example, a long-time personal friend has just endorsed my skills as an editor. He’s in a completely different business and he’s never read a single article of mine, so he knows nothing about my professional skills. But LinkedIn invited him to endorse me as an editor, so he did.

LinkedIn is stirring the pot to get people to visit the Website, and they’re doing it by encouraging pollyanna-like behavior that deflates its value. I use LinkedIn to expand and organize my database of professional contacts, and I value endorsements from other professionals who know me and are familiar with my work. But by actively soliciting those endorsements, LinkedIn has made it impossible to know if they are genuine or if they’re made out some a sense of obligation or professional courtesy, or in hopes of reciprocation.

An up-to-date personal database of business contacts that I can access and connect with from anywhere in the world is an amazingly powerful tool, and I’ll never give it up, but I’m not happy about the increasing signal-to-noise ratio. Still, I haven’t forgotten that it’s a free service, paid for by advertising that provides useful business information. Hey wait; I’m in that business too! I wonder if LinkedIn will endorse me?

 

The Mobile Air Conditioning Society’s blog has been honored as the best business to business blog in the Automotive Aftermarket by the Automotive Communications Awards and the Car Care Council Women’s Board!

When having your mobile A/C system professionally serviced, insist on proper repair procedures and quality replacement parts. Insist on recovery and recycling so that refrigerant can be reused and not released into the atmosphere.

If you’re a service professional and not a MACS member yet, you should be, click here for more information.

You can E-mail us at macsworldwide@macsw.org or visit to find a Mobile Air Conditioning Society member repair shop in your area. Click here  to find out more about your car’s mobile A/C and engine cooling system.

The 34th annual Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS) Worldwide Training Conference and Trade Show, Be the Best of the Best will take place January 16-18 2014 at the Sheraton New Orleans.

About macsworldwide

Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS) Worldwide Founded in 1981, MACS is the leading non-profit trade association for the mobile air conditioning, heating and engine cooling system segment of the automotive aftermarket. Since 1991, MACS has assisted more than 600,000 technicians to comply with the 1990 U.S. EPA Clean Air Act requirements for certification in refrigerant recovery and recycling to protect the environment. The Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS) Worldwide’s mission is clear and focused--as the recognized global authority on mobile air conditioning and heat transfer industry issues. www.macsw.org
This entry was posted in Automotive training, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Endorse Me

  1. vince says:

    Hello Jacques, thanks for the blog. I’m an automotive professor teaching automotive technologies for the past 25 years at BCIT in British Columbia Canada. I appreciate MACS publication since I use it with my students. Keep up the good work, I’m a linkeding member but I rarely use it like you do. All the best. Cheers Vince

Leave a Reply

