A tale of packaging woes


Every parts seller should read this:

It’s been said before that you can’t fit 10 pounds into a 5 pound bag.  But does it work the other way around?

A MACS member shared this experience with us:

Two weeks ago, I ordered a new fan shroud for my 1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport.  The old shroud was probably tossed away years ago, and in an attempt to correct some overheating issues, I decided to order a new one from one of those “online discount” parts suppliers.  At first things seemed simple enough.  It was an easy, painless process to order the new shroud online, and the price was great to boot.  As expected, three days later my package arrived.  But to my dismay, the box was pretty beat, and when I opened it I found my new fan shroud broken into three pieces.DSC_0012

DSC_0011

Of course I was disappointed.  After all, I had been working on the Jeep for several days, and this was one of the last parts I needed to install.  So, my first thought was that I would be delayed at least one week because of this.  My first call was to the shipper to let them know the issue.  Great customer service, as expected.  My second was to the distributor from which the item was ordered.  But when I looked for a number to call, low and behold there was none, just an online “customer service form” to complete, with a promise of a response within 24-48 hours.  Great, I thought, this isn’t going to go well.

So I let them know about the issue, as well as my thoughts, that not only was the box too big for the fan shroud, but also that there was no packing material included in the box to act as a cushion.

In reply, they assured me that all would be taken care of.  The item price was promptly refunded, but not the shipping charge (this is their way of making sure that you re-order a replacement item from them).  Then I had to go back online and re-order a replacement for the item that arrived damaged, and pay again for the item price plus the shipping charge.  It was at this point that the online retailer would refund the shipping charge to me.

So here’s the run down.  I ordered the original fan shroud on a Monday, received the damaged shroud on a Thursday, reordered the replacement on the following Monday, and finally received an undamaged shroud on the following Friday.  Two weeks.  Glad it was my car, and not a customer’s vehicle.

DSC_0018

DSC_0026

The Mobile Air Conditioning Society’s blog has been honored as the best business to business blog in the Automotive Aftermarket by the Automotive Communications Awards and the Car Care Council Women’s Board!

When having your mobile A/C system professionally serviced, insist on proper repair procedures and quality replacement parts. Insist on recovery and recycling so that refrigerant can be reused and not released into the atmosphere.

If you’re a service professional and not a MACS member yet, you should be, visit www.macsw.org for more information.

You can E-mail us at macsworldwide@macsw.org . To locate a Mobile Air Conditioning Society member repair shop in your area. Click here  to find out more about your car’s mobile A/C and engine cooling system.

The 34th annual Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS) Worldwide Training Conference and Trade Show, Power Up  will take place January 16-18 2014 at the Sheraton New Orleans.

About macsworldwide

Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS) Worldwide Founded in 1981, MACS is the leading non-profit trade association for the mobile air conditioning, heating and engine cooling system segment of the automotive aftermarket. Since 1991, MACS has assisted more than 600,000 technicians to comply with the 1990 U.S. EPA Clean Air Act requirements for certification in refrigerant recovery and recycling to protect the environment. The Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS) Worldwide’s mission is clear and focused--as the recognized global authority on mobile air conditioning and heat transfer industry issues. www.macsw.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A tale of packaging woes

  1. Dave Hobbs says:

    I must say I love the internet and love good deals but I love my local parts stores that I’ve done business with for 35 years even better. Nothing beats face to face business with suppliers who sell OEM quality parts!

Leave a Reply

