The next generation takes the lead


Rick’s Mobile A/C, Mill Creek, WA – The next generation takes the lead

Rick hands over the reigns to Kevin

Rick hands over the reigns to Kevin

 

Rick Powers founded Rick’s Mobile A/C in 1993. He explains, “The focus of the business has been the recovery and recycling of refrigerant for body and mechanical shops in the greater Seattle, Washington area that did not have the equipment or expertise to perform discharge of systems for repair, recharge after repair, leak test and diagnosis for repair as needed.”

 

Rick joined MACS in 1997. “I joined MACS for information on upcoming changes in the industry. MACS has helped us be prepared for the constant change in the laws and chemical changes so that we are ready for the vehicles when they come out with new stuff. We have already been servicing R-1234yf systems.”

 

Over the years, Rick has seen some unusual repairs. “Probably the strangest thing I have seen was at another shop that I got called to that couldn’t pull vacuum on a system. They said it was filling their vacuum pump with oil. The car was a ‘57 Chevy with an aftermarket air system, but the builder of the lines made them all the same size, which unfortunately made it possible to hook the heater and A/C lines in the wrong position. Needless to say, they had been drawing coolant into their A/C machine. Thankfully, I found it before hooking onto it myself!”

 

Rick has decided he is ready to retire and that is where brand new MACS member Kevin Murray comes in. “I met Kevin when he was a service advisor at a shop I did A/C work for. I was impressed with how he dealt with customers and his knowledge of the vehicles he worked on. He mentioned that if I ever wanted to sell my business to let him know. I called him around the first of the year and told him if he was really interested we should get together for a beer and chat. We were able to put a deal together that worked for both of us. Probably the best advice I can give Kevin is to follow his instincts and use all the information available.”

 

“I have had an amazing 22 years since starting Rick’s Mobile A/C and look forward to seeing Kevin continue to grow the business and have the same success!”

 

Kevin has hit the ground running and has been a MACS member for four months. Following Rick’s lead, Kevin became a member of MACS because, “I use MACS as my research and development department. They keep their eyes and ears on where the industry is moving so that I can focus on the day to day operations of running my business.”

 

Kevin tells us his most important tool as a mobile A/C repair service is, “My van. Since I go to my customers, when the van isn’t moving my customers aren’t happy and I’m not making money. So far, I’m mostly tooling up for R- 1234yf with a leak detector and an R/R/R machine. I also recently invested in equipment to pressure test systems with nitrogen. I’m looking forward to also purchasing variable displacement compressor test equipment.”

 

What kind of repairs is Kevin seeing on the road? “I have found myself hooked up to Kenworth dump trucks and the next day diagnosing a leak on a Lamborghini Gallardo. Every day is its own adventure.”  So far into his new business Kevin has learned, “Change is our friend. Stay on top of what is new and use that knowledge to separate yourself from your competition.”

Are you a member of MACS yet? Why not? Click here to join us!

 

 

 

 

About macsworldwide

Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS) Worldwide Founded in 1981, MACS is the leading non-profit trade association for the mobile air conditioning, heating and engine cooling system segment of the automotive aftermarket. Since 1991, MACS has assisted more than 600,000 technicians to comply with the 1990 U.S. EPA Clean Air Act requirements for certification in refrigerant recovery and recycling to protect the environment. The Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS) Worldwide’s mission is clear and focused--as the recognized global authority on mobile air conditioning and heat transfer industry issues. www.macsw.org
This entry was posted in Automotive, Automotive Aftermarket, Automotive training, MACS Member, MACS Training Event, Mobile Air Conditioning, Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

